Thursday, November 21, 2013

Dark Flame Rising




Dark Flame Rising follows 14 year old Keegan in the hunt for a powerful elemental object required to reset the balance of the four elements. It is a young adult novel rated with THREE STARS.

Keegan begins the novel telling her tale of her life that has been spent jumping locations, a history later explained as required to keep her safe. From what, you find out later within the novel. These moves eventually take her to Turtle Springs, a small town that holds many secrets and a rich history. Keegan is a very curious girl, which brings her head first into a search for an object that she doesn't even fully understand.

"Keegan almost fell off the couch when she heard the words fall from Lavinia's lips. Her grandmother had always refused to speak of the place. Its very mention would dampen the brightest spirits and awaken a brooding beast in the old woman that was rarely seen otherwise - one that unleashed fierce reprimands or caused Lavinia to disappear for hours without explanation."

The pages of this novel hold many secrets, secrets that Keegan's curious mind refuses to keep hidden in her search for a truth that has been hidden from her for much of her life. She's on a powerful hunt for answers and comes across these answers in many dangerous adventures. Will Keegan be able to unearth the mystical object that is so very important to the Guardians restoring the elemental balance?

I have chosen to rate this novel with three stars because of a few reasons. One, when the story picks up pace there are several grammatical errors. I found that often times the descriptions were too thorough, wasting time describing scenes that didn't require much description. It made the novel quite wordy. I did enjoy the story, I found  that the author did an awful lot of research prior to publishing, the story is heavy with footnotes for further explanations of past events. Some of these were interesting to read, including the explanation of which element each zodiac sign covers. For instance, my element would be water due to the fact that I am a Pisces.

I would recommend this novel to younger readers who enjoy supernatural stories.
Saturday, November 16, 2013

Lesser Gods





This is the third book in this amazing series of psionics and their war. After finishing the first two books in this series, I was eager to begin reading the third installment of this edge of your seat series. I found this novel almost as good as the first two with only one set back. Which is why I have chosen to rate this novel as a FOUR STAR read.

The story begins shortly after the second book. With Adrian facing more challenges than the first two books within this story. Adrian and Alia face major conflicts within these pages and they will keep you at the edge of your seat eager for more. These conflicts are quickly devoured as you will be unable to put the book down in these moments. Howell has an amazing way with words and the novel is written so well that you feel as though you are right there with them.
“I set the duffle bag next to my bed and sat down on my mattress. As I stared out the window on the other side of the room, I wondered what I would see and do on my second mission for the Raven Knights.”
Adrian is now an Honorary Guardian Knight and he is now accepting missions. Each of his missions are equally exciting and when you read through his adventures you cannot put the book down (No seriously. The book will not want to leave your hands).
“How would Laila feel if, in taking her mother’s place, I were to be killed tomorrow? What of Alia and Cindy, and even Terry? And what of me? Was I celebrating the last night of my life on this planet?”
As per usual, our Adrian is just a little dare devil. Taking giant risks in the name of eventually one day reuniting with his lost sister. Does he actually accomplish that goal? You’ll have to read to find out ;)


My only downfall with this book, that I didn’t find true of the first two novels, is that there are several chapters that are extremely slow paced. I’m more of a fast paced don’t want to stop reader so these slower moments were hard for me to get into. 
Tuesday, November 12, 2013

Allegiant



It was no secret that I would review Allegiant after having read the first two novels in this series. Divergent and Insurgent were both five star reads and I eagerly jumped into Allegiant upon their completion. Allegiant takes a different style and faces different challenges but kept with the same captivating style that keeps you racing for more. All in all, however, this novel is rated as FOUR STAR read.

 Again, Allegiant picks up right where the last book, Insurgent, left off. Tris is outside of the city heading to a destination unknown. They eventually meet up with the bureau of genetics and that is where things start to heat up. Instantly there is conflict and you find yourself not only in Tris’ mind but also Tobias’. At first I was weary of this back and forth perspective because the authors style of writing is the same for both minds and it was occasionally confusing as to who I was reading from. However, by the end of the novel it becomes quite obvious why this method of writing suited the author. I won’t tell you why, you’ll have to read it yourself and find out ;)

There are a few new villains now that Janine has been defeated. Conflict rises in the city and outside as well. Tris is left with monstrous decisions and Tobias tries his hardest as well to keep up and find his own ways of supporting their efforts. I found that within this novel there was too much conflict between Tris and Tobias, my two newest favourite characters within the novel. I found myself frusturated that they just couldn’t smile and make up quicker than they do.

I won’t spoil anything within this novel but I will say that it is an emotional roller coaster as the author has no issues introducing new characters throughout the series only to have them die off eventually. You come to love some of the lost characters and mourn for them through your tears (or at least I did ;)

So my two obvious favourite characters are Tris and Tobias, the stories main characters. But other than that, I found that I related a lot to Cara.
It’s strange to see people you don’t know well in the morning, with sleepy eyes and pillow creases in their cheeks; to know that Christina is cheerful in the morning, and Peter wakes up with his hair perfectly flat, but Cara communicates only through a series of grunts, inching her way, limb by limb, toward coffee.
The main reason this novel lost a star is due to the fact that: (1) The back and forth between Tris’ perspective and Tobias’ was hard to follow at times because the writing style never differed, and (2) I didn’t like the ending all that much. I could come up with a few different endings that would have satisfied me more. That being said, all in all, it was still an amazing read. Slower than the first two books, but just as interesting.

My Faction

At the end of this book was a faction quiz. So like every other Divergent fan out there I took that quiz. I figured I should share my results with the readers of my blog. The quiz is a short seven question multiple choice quiz and at the end of the quiz my results show that I would be a Erudite. That should have been obvious since I am a book nerd ;)


Are you interested in taking this quiz? You can find it online by clicking this LINK. Enjoy.
Friday, November 8, 2013

Insurgent by Veronica Roth



                After completing book one, Divergent, it was no question in my mind that I would also read book two, Insurgent. Book one was an action packed race to the finish for me and book two did not disappoint in the least. Insurgent by Veronica Roth is a definite FIVE STAR read.
                Insurgent starts off right where Divergent left off. With Tris on a train headed to Amity Headquarters, where her chosen faction is not entirely welcomed. With her choices dwindling and the conflicts rising, Tris has few options to consider on her quest to save humanity. Let me just say that Tris is one bad ass chick. She faces dilemma’s that no sixteen year old should ever have to face and even though her demise is inches away on multiple occasions she always finds a way to pull through. With the Erudite threat and not many left to trust, Tris and Four have monstrous decisions to make for the greater good, or what they believe the greater good is.
                “The truth has a way of changing a person’s plans.
                But it is difficult to persuade Tobias to do something he doesn’t want to do, and even more difficult to justify my feelings with no evidence except my intuition.                So I agree. But I do not change my mind.”
                This book will take you on an emotional journey.  You’ll find laughter, sadness, and shocking suspenseful moments around every corner of this story.
                “When I get back to my bedroom, Peter is standing next to my bed.                Instinct makes me straighten up and search the room for a blunt object.”
                Tris challenges everything, everyone, and challenges even herself. She has attitude and makes this story what it is. Without Tris, the book would be nothing. The character is extremely well developed and incredibly believable. You will be devouring this book and eating up every obstacle and challenge that she faces.
                “’You’ll have to do better than that,’ I say to Jeanine.”
                Readers who enjoy young adult dystopia novels have to read this series. I would not suggest starting at book two because a lot of the character development and plot development is set in book one. Trust me, it is worth the three book series. Happy Reading.



First Two Chapter Preview:

Click HERE.
Wednesday, November 6, 2013

Divergent



I decided to read Divergent just for my own enjoyment and I am glad that I did. This fast paced dystopian novel is a FIVE STAR page turner that many will enjoy. 

Beatrice is a conflicted girl. Born to a world split into five factions, the selfless Abnegation, the intelligent Erudite, the brave Dauntless, the peaceful Amity, and the honest Candor. In this world, every year all of the new sixteen year olds choose their future faction and then face initiation. If you pass the initiation then you join the chosen faction. If you fail the initiation, you become factionless and homeless.

Beatrice has many choices to make, several obstacles to face, and a conflict so big that success almost doesn't even seem possible. But each struggle she faces makes her stronger and braver to face her final battles.

"Out of my peripheral vision, I see Four shove the door open and walk out. Apparently this fight isn't interesting enough for him. Or maybe he's going to find out why everthing's spinning like  top, and I don't blame him; I want to know the answer too."

The book is humorous, thrilling, and has romance thrown in. It truly does have it all. Will Beatrice gain entrance into her chosen faction? Will love find her in the middle of all of her trials? What will her family think if they could see her now? This book is a must read for dystopian lovers. 




Excerpt:

     
     He pushes the barrel into my forehead. My tears have stopped and the air feels cold as it touches my cheeks. I reach out and rest my hand on his chest so I can feel his heartbeat. At least his heartbeat is still him.
     The bullet clicks into the chamber. Maybe it will be as easy to let him shoot me as it was in the fear landscape, as it is in my dreams. Maybe it will just be a bang, and the lights will lift, and I will find myself in another world. I stand still and wait.
     Can I be forgiven for all I've done to get here?
     I don't know. I don't know.
     Please.
Monday, November 4, 2013

Adrian Howell's Psionic: The Tower



I had previously read book one, so I knew what to expect. Despite having read the first book (I read a few books between the first and second) my memory was foggy of the first one. After reading the first few pages, Adrian explains that he won’t recap. But he does recap just enough for you to remember where you left off. This amazing book is rated as FIVE stars and it earned every one of them.

It starts off with the narrator, which this being a first person is none other than Adrian Howell. They have escaped the research center and are headed to their new home… With the Guardians! Yes, that is right, Adrian’s new family chose a psionic faction to side with and things are going to change for Adrian. They arrive quickly at NH-1, or New Haven One, their new home. And while there are quite a bit of luxury here, there is also a lot of work to be done...For Adrian.
Adrian Howell is a destroyer, his psionics make him the perfect soldier. But Adrian doesn’t want that, he wants to live in peace. Nevertheless, he is trained by Terry who “was raised by wolves”.  He is also taxed with homeschooling, and teaching Alia (his younger ‘sister’) to mouth speak. I was slightly saddened at the burdens placed on Adrian. He seems to be, at 13 years of age, more a father to Alia than a brother. Teaching her to swim, ride a bike, talk, and basically tied to her side 99% of the time. It is the only downside, or problem, that I had with this novel.

“Then perhaps it would surprise you to know that we got an anonymous call that gave us not only your exact location, but also informed us that a team of Seraphim were hunting ou, and would probably have arrived before sunrise.”

As alsways, there was enough conflict and excitement to keep the pages turning. I, for one, read the book within a week. Picking it up every chance I could find to read and devouring it quickly. I found that the ending tied in to the book so well with all of the smaller details within the novel and it left me wondering what book three will have in store for me.

“Luck will only get you so far before it gets you killed.”


Adrian is one lucky boy, barely getting out of book two alive, leaping for book three we shall see what is in store for us but I bet that it will be another amazing story with awesome conflicts and page turning excitement.
Friday, November 1, 2013

A Little Chat with Ramz Artso


Hello Ramz Artso! Thank you so much for stopping by and agreeing to answer a few questions for your readers and the readers of The Schwartz Reviews. I’m sure both will greatly appreciate the time you spend here. Let’s jump in, shall we?
My first question to authors is always the same, when did you know that you wanted to be a writer?
Hi, Mrs. Schwartz, and thank you very much for having me. To answer your question, as far back as I can remember, I’ve always wanted to create fictional worlds and tell stories. My initial plan was to become a filmmaker, but that didn’t work out too well. That being the case, at the age of fifteen, I decided I could weave tales through writing.
You do seem to have a talent for telling a fast paced story with the ability of hooking readers. Your novel was a quick and great read earning five stars on The Schwartz Reviews. How does it feel to know that your book is gaining such great reviews?
First and foremost, thank you. Truth be told, it feels fantastic, almost as if someone’s pouring honey over your soul. It could also be likened to receiving a great compliment, one that isn’t contrived and that you hoped to receive.
What genre of books do you generally write?
Young-adult and New adult fantasy with as much romance as possible. That said, some of my books, like the Peter Simmons Series, for instance, aren’t romantic at all, although they are still in the YA/NA genre. Speaking of genres, I do plan to write some dinosaur, zombie and horror books later on in my career, as doing so seems a delightful prospect.
I am a huge fan of many genres so I can appreciate a writer who likes to branch out to cover more than one genre. I would love to see your new works, your writing style does have a way of sucking in a reader thoroughly. Do you see yourself continuing with the faster paced novels?
Thank you, it’s nice to hear, as that’s the effect I strive to achieve. I most definitely do plan to write more fast-paced books, as well as thicker, longer ones. The reason being that I understand there are people who prefer big, hefty books and others who have a short attention span.
How do you develop your characters and keep them unique from one another?
Some of my characters come into being entirely by themselves, and I simply censor them every now and then; make sure they stay within the boundaries of what they stand for. Other characters are outlined, given one particular or several different traits/weaknesses and thrown into action to see how they do. I also assign specific habits or words to my protagonists. Take Michael Fleming as an example. Although he is British, he often refers to his conversers as ‘friend’.
It works well giving them all character and making them believable. How long does it generally take for you to write a novel?
Thank you. It can take me anywhere from two weeks to two years to type up a story. I can’t write something unless it feels right, and more often than not, it takes time for that to happen. I then go on to read the book twice or thrice, so as to revise and edit it here and there.
Even reading your shorter work, I could tell that a lot of time went into it. I found it extremely well written. Where do you get your inspiration?
I am easily influenced by creative types, so inspiration comes without much difficulty to me. For example, the whole Peter Simmons series was inspired by Christopher Nolan’s ‘Inception’.  And if I run out of ideas, I just read, play videogames, watch movies, cartoons and then sit down and meditate on how it could help my writing.
Those are some great ways to beat writers block, I am glad that you have shared those ideas within the guest post. Would you mind sharing what is the single most helpful thing to you as an author?
Definitely the internet, as research is an extremely important aspect in creative writing. I don’t need to buy a ticket and live in Oslo, for instance, if I want to write about Norway. I can just Google the city, read about its history and people’s personal experiences they’ve managed to accumulate during their stay there to get a picture of what it’s like.
The internet definitely makes a lot of things easier. That being said, when can we anticipate the release of your next work?
I’m currently writing a vampire romance story entitled Immortal Blood, and it should be out fairly soon – in two/three weeks.
I do love me a good vampire story. Vampires are extremely popular nowadays so I’m sure it will be another great success. May I ask why you choose to write?
Thank you, I certainly hope my readers will appreciate the story, as keeping them entertained is my primary goal. I write because I feel the need to express myself and be heard. I’ve an overactive imagination, so I always have something to talk and write about. For me, writing is a cathartic experience. Writing is what I do. I live for the process, I breathe it.
Sounds like me with reading. Who has influenced your writing and how?
Stephen King has definitely had an effect on me and my writing. He taught me to be more simplistic in prose and not overly descriptive.
Both good ideas that I’m sure your readers appreciate. Where did you get the idea to write “Victoria Carnahan and the Red Cloaks” a book of yours previously reviewed by The Schwartz Reviews?
Thank you, I do hope so. The idea of Victoria Carnahan and the Red Cloaks was partly inspired by the Harry Potter books and mainly by the numerous vampire stories I’ve had the privilege to read throughout my life. I remember thinking to myself: wouldn’t it be cool if vampires met wands?

I thought that it did mix well together and was different enough to be truly enjoyed as its own work. Any last words to your readers?
I’d like to take this wonderful opportunity and thank everyone for reading. Your opinion means the world to me, guys. If I’ve managed to make your day a little better through my writing, that is wonderful and my day is made. If I did the exact opposite, I’m terribly sorry to disappoint. I’ve got many more books in the works, though, so you’re bound to like at least one sooner or later.
Where can your readers find you?

I can be found on Twitter, here’s my handle: @RamzArtso.
Also, I have a Facebook page, here’s the link: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Ramz-Artso/195195860646876.
And last but definitely not least, you can always contact me on my personal blog:
And last but definitely not least, you can always contact me on my personal blog: http://ramzartso.blogspot.ru/
Wednesday, October 30, 2013

GUEST POST

HOW AND WHAT TO WRITE?


       Before you sit down and start scribbling, it is of crucial importance to have at least an inkling of what you’re going to write about. Better yet, come up with a detailed a plot, if you can. In my experience, it is best to tackle a genre that interests you most, or one that you at the very least can relate to.

Once you’ve accomplished that, move on to writing. Now, here’s where we run into a problem that’s known worldwide. How do you write well and without encountering writer’s block? This is how I do it: Before anything else, make sure you get in as much sleep in your day as possible, in order to keep your head fresh and vented. Drink coffee, if you need that extra edge – I personally prefer Red Bull – and get both your thesaurus and dictionary ready. That said, don’t abused either of them and try to add as much of your own vocabulary and thoughts as possible. After all, that’s one of the things that make a title unique – its prose. Write as much as you can, and try to produce as many pages as your fingers will allow. Keep in mind that you can always edit and rephrase something if you’ve made a slip.

Now, if you do happen to run into the ugly face of writer’s block, simply take a day off. Watch movies, cartoons, take walks, listen to music and then sit down to write. If needed, force yourself to do it. You might end up trashing the whole thing, but the process might also give you that one sentence you’ve been looking for: The sentence that’ll have you pen down more quality work, because it sets the mood of the story exceptionally well.


That’s pretty much how I go about my doodling.

~Written by Ramz Artso

Monday, October 28, 2013

Victoria Carnahan and the Red Cloaks



This supernatural filled short book is a page turning FIVE STAR read.

For Victoria Carnahan the supernatural world is no stranger. She lives in a small town where supernatural beings reside. A student at a boarding school for the supernaturals the story jumps right into it not wasting anytime. Victoria is a witch who has a werewolf and a mermaid as her best friends. Life is normal, or as normal as can be for a school full of out of the ordinary students.

This book has the ability to suck you straight into this amazing adventure by the time you reach the end of chapter one. You're left devouring the rest of the short book in record time. No really, I finished the entire book within an hour. It is great for readers who have difficulty finishing novels, you will finish this one.

I only had one issue with this book. Within the first few chapters it threw around a lot of names. Many of which never resurfaced again throughout the book. It became hard to follow and eventually I was better suited not trying to remember all of the names. After I made it past that blurb, I found no other issues with the book.

The book began fast and ended quickly. It will leave you eager to read more of the story or start imagining the story continuing. All in all, it was a great book and it was a great morning book with my coffee.
Sunday, October 27, 2013

Dahlia



A slower paced young adult supernatural romance novel rated with THREE STARS!

Dahlia begins with a young girl at an orphanage who is left with a chunk of her past missing leaving her with many questions. Throughout the pages several answers are found, however, I found that the book was a lot more slower paced then necessary. The descriptions were absolutely amazing, however, I found that the author was distracted from the story at times to write full descriptions for nearly every thing covered within the pages.

The story brings all of our favourite supernatural beings back while adding in several new terms and supernaturals to keep the story interesting. Even the elements play an important part within the book. It reminded me a lot of "The Mortal Instruments" by Cassandra Claire.

When the story does pick up pace the author seemed excited and I felt like Channelle didn't want to forget her thoughts as these areas were prone to typos and grammatical errors.

I loved the love story between Dahlia and Greyson and the fact that it began as a good versus evil type of love. I enjoyed the mystery involved in the beginning as you are left wondering right along with Dahlia what is really going on. "Her thoughts immediately went to Green Eyes and his comment about being different from others. What did he really know?"

There are some huge OH MY GOD moments as the answers trickle in. Leaving you shocked and eager to read on. The ending ties up nicely and I absolutely loved the last few lines for Channelle's creativeness.

All in all, it was a great book. I would recommend it to anyone interested in young adult, urban fantasy, adventure, and romance. Great work Channelle.
Wednesday, October 23, 2013

Seduced by Pain



This book is a real page turner. I read it non-stop, in a day. Thank goodness it didn't take me longer because everything else took the back burner while I devoured this book. FIVE STAR READ!

First I would just like to say that I wish that my diary was as well written as Rose's. Her diary entries are magnificent. "If a heart can fall in love, what does it fall into when that love is lost? Does it fall into grief, or something darker, perhaps?" Her words speak volumes and show just how deep her romance with Derek truly is. A love story fitting for the Shakespearean quotes at the beginning of each chapter.

Book one covered a lot of ground. This is definitely a series that you would truly benefit from reading from the beginning. However, if you generally do jump into series mid-way through, there are details that are covered in order to keep you well informed of the past history you will have missed. While I suggest reading from book one, beginning at book two is possible.

I loved the entire story. Really. From start to finish this book is jammed with a lot of action, romance, and amazing quotes that get your mind racing. "Caterpillar think life is over in cocoon,, that darkness means death. Not so. Darkness bring new lie. And wings. Caterpillar becomes butterfly and fl away". This book keeps you on your toes as you are left wondering how impossible situations will find solutions. Your standing on the sidelines rooting for the impossible love between Rose and Derek.

The book also has a lot of funny moments as well. While it runs through your emotions you are left giggling at Rose's best friend Ocean's comical sense of humour. It leaves you guessing what is going to happen next while keeping the mood light with the hilarious encounters as well.

As I mentioned in my review for the first novel in this series, the intimate scenes are really intimate. There is no hiding the passion found between our heroic couple. As they search for answers on how to release Dean, Derek's brother, from his hellish prison within his mind the passion is high as they also search for answers on how to control Rose's dark gift. Or is it a curse?

Many answers are found within this book, though some answers are left just out of your reach encouraging you to complete the trilogy. Which, by the way, I will be happy to oblige. The ground work for book three is set up well by the end of book two and I gotta tell you, this reader is definitely hooked.

I would recommend this book to any romance, urban fantasy, or supernatural readers out there. This book definitely will leave you guessing as you reach for the final book in the series to find out the answer to all of your 'what if's'. Stay tuned, you can bet your bottom dollar that I will be reviewing the third in time ;)
Tuesday, October 22, 2013

Flux of Skin

I have excitedly rated this novel with FIVE STARS! Trust me, it earned every single one of them.

I can't say it enough. Kris Radcliffe has become a new favourite author of mine with this series. Once again she tells an amazing story of fates, shifters, enthrallers, and dragons that you just can not put down. I was sucked right in within the first chapters and sped read until the very last pages.

Rysa, a girl like any of us gets sucked into an extremely wild world full of the supernaturals we come to love in this series. Just when you think that her and Ladon will have the peace they deserve, the love that is so strong between the two, your thrown into an adventure just as captivating as within book one. Their love story is strong within this book, several steamy moments. And the excitement and action is high as Derek is enthralled and kidnapped and leaves the others with unanswered questions and the goal of finding him.

Rysa is forced to find her own balance as her Fate and Shifter fight for a place within her crowded mind. Leaving her ill and vulnerable. Radcliffe has the amazing ability to suck you into her novel and you just have to flip the pages quickly to find out how it all ends.

A great story and an even greater hook at the end. Once again I am on the edge of my seat as I look forward to the next book in this page turning series.
Thursday, June 20, 2013

Remember When 2 by T. Torrest


I had the pleasure of reading this amazing book before release. Let me tell you, it was another 5 STAR read from Torrest! When we first met Layla and Trip they just could not seem to get their feelings across for each other properly. It was in high school when they first met and first fell for each other. Finally, by the end of the novel, the two finally came together and admitted their love for one another. With only one issue in the way of their love... Life was taking them in two complete different directions.

In the second novel, several years have passed. They have both moved on with their lives. Layla and Trip are engaged...to other people! Ugh! So frustrating! I spent the entire first book yelling at my e-reader just waiting for them to get together, and now, I did it again! However, now they are adults and the situations are even more steamy and intriguing. They both miss-communicate again, and almost miss their chance (or so I hope).

I had a few LOVE it moments and a few HATE it moments as always. I just get so into the novels Torrest writes that I tend to get slightly emotional over the whole thing.

"He literally did a double take, shaking his head in a futile attempt to rid himself of the sight of his old friend standing before him. I guessed he remembered me after all"
 -Layla from Remember When 2

Yay! After only a few chapters (a few too many in my opinion), Trip finally makes an entrance. LOVE it! The chemistry these two have is still so amazing that when ever the two are on the pages together you are forced to continue reading without any other thoughts. Dishes? Pft! Not with Layla and Trip steaming up my e-reader!

"But for the time being at least, we were able to sit in relative obscurity in a booth at some no-name eatery on 45th, polishing off the rest of our late-night snack. Seemed like old times, just sitting in a diner with Trip, as we licked the last remnants of whipped cream off our lips. Off our own lips. Just wanted to be clear on that."
Layla from Remember When 2

As always, Torrest has a way with words that make you giggle to yourself as you read. Comical thoughts placed here and there to keep you smiling through your anger at the fact that these two characters with such huge chemistry just can't seem to forget their worries and get together all ready.  

OK. So I absolutely loved the whole thing. The only thing I hated was the fact that they still have conflicts to hurdle over in order to have that 'happily ever after' moment that we have all been waiting for since reading the first novel in this series. But I'm sure that moment will arrive once and for all in Remember When 3 (Hopefully)! 

This novel is due to be released today! So go get your hands on a copy!! You definitely will not regret this read! And keep your eye on the blog, I'm hoping (crosses fingers) to have a review up for Remember When 3 when it is released! Amazing work Torrest!


Wednesday, June 12, 2013

Seduced by Innocence by Kimberly Kinrade

I was offered this novel quite awhile ago to be honest. The eager reader in me just has a difficult time limiting my approvals for requests. When I did finally read this novel I was slightly annoyed at myself for letting this one collect dust (haha on my e-reader) for so long. This book truly was a 5 STAR read!

This novel tells the story of Rose. However, the really great part about this book is that the story switches points of view. I know, generally I hate that, but in this book it really works! So you read the novel in Rose's point of view. A 19 year old girl who lives in a coven of witches. This coven of witches turns out to be more cult like than anything else though. Rose begins to notice that herself as she falls for Derek O'Connor (My husbands last name by the way ;) There also is another man, Blake, who is desperately in love with Rose. Nice little triangle going on for awhile and the novel tells the story through each of their points of view.

The conflicts in this story were amazing, and for a supernatural read, they didn't cross the line into 'ya right' territory. Rose only has eyes for Derek, and wants to give him her all but she has a dark secret that holds her back and a past that threatens to tear them apart for good.

There was one slight issue that I had with this novel. As I started reading it, it seemed very young adult like. Which is fine, I happen to love young adult extremely well. However, the first sex scenes were very much adult and not so much young at all. I loved these scenes which is why it is still rated five stars, but at first it just seemed out of place.

All in all though, this was an amazing read of witches and shapeshifters and an amazing love story. It was so good, and so captivating that as soon as I was finished with book one I instantly began book two. Amazing work Kinrade! Can't wait to read the rest of the series!
Tuesday, June 4, 2013

Salvation by Alyssa Cooper



It is no secret, I love vampire stories. So when I came across this novel, I was sold instantly. The story follows a vampire girl named Mali. She comes into Alec's life at the perfect moment and helps him piece back together his life. They both fall for each other instantly and enjoy what little time they have together. Mali has a past, that follows her to Alec. Her creator, her past lover, and a dark secret that threatens her immortality. This story was definitely a FOUR STAR read.

The conflicts in this story were believable and the characters were well developed. I read the first part of the book without putting it down because I was instantly hooked. I figured, like most vampire stories, that Mali would eventually turn Alec and that they would live happily ever after. I was wrong. However, I was not disappointed.

I found that the second half of the novel took some time to get into. When it jumps into Mali's past and develops her fully as a character. Showing how she came to be the way she is and explaining fully why Mali's past haunted her present. I had a hard time transitioning into her past, but after a few chapters I was hooked again in the race to the end of the story.

I found the end a little depressing, but I honestly can not think of another way to tie this story up. It had to end the way it did. I can't discuss it further without giving something away though, so you will just have to read it yourself and comment on how you thought of the ending. This novel would be a great read to anyone looking for a vampire read, or a slight mystery. If you love paranormal romances, this has a romance that crosses the times, filled with conflict and an undying love you can't go wrong with this book.



Monday, May 20, 2013

Summer is here!

Hey everyone! I am still here! Still reading! I have just hit summer with my children and have been busy with playdates and summer fun. I have a review coming up shortly I swear! I am however, not going to be accepting more requests until I have caught up on the TBR list or I find a few more reviewers to help with the list. I got a little carried away with summer, but have been cutting out more reading time lately so no worries. :) The Schwartz Reviews is here to stay.
Tuesday, April 30, 2013

Requiem for Blood by Alexandra Hope



"You are telling me that drinking another human's blood has enhanced your senses to near animalistic?" 

This book has a whole different take on the traditional vampire traditions. A view that I found quite intriguing. Olivia is a blood drinking human in a secluded colony of blood drinking humans. These humans basically live the life of a vampire while searching for the key to becoming a true vampire. Olivia, the main character, is the daughter of this colonies leader and unknowingly embarks on an adventure that will bring her face to face with her mother in a search for answers. I have rated this book with THREE STARS.

I found the changes to the traditional vampire stories refreshing. The characters were fully developed and they all faced some inner conflicts that made this novel a real page turner. Not only was this a story with vampires, but it also held the tale of some Japanese supernatural beings as well. I found it interesting how the whole book tied together both of these supernatural elements. I had a difficult time putting this book down and for the majority of my reading time I was racing to the finish to discover the answers in which Olivia was searching for. 

The reason I have taken a few stars off of this rating is due to the lack of editing. A lot of the times I felt as though the author had an idea in her head and simply raced to put it on paper. Normally I can see past these typos and errors but with this story I felt as though there were just too many. Had it not of been for these mistakes throughout the entire novel (typos, grammatical errors, wrong name used, double words, etc) this book would have been rated 4.5 stars. I know I generally do not rate for half stars, but one other small issue with this book just did not sit right with me. The hallucination after the overdose on blood was poorly put together and extremely difficult to follow. With the elimination of these two issues within this novel this book would have been a FIVE STAR read. 

The book ends with a bit of a hook, and will potentially be part of a series. With that being said, I hope the author takes a little bit longer during the editing process in order to up the stakes in her future work. This book had amazing potential, this series could be one of the great ones. 

All in all, I enjoyed the story greatly. It was difficult to stop reading and was a real page turner. I would recommend this novel to any patient urban fantasy reader.


Thursday, April 25, 2013

Email Inbox

Just an update regarding the unanswered email inquiries in my inbox. I appreciate (once again) all of your patience. I am currently trying to get through some of the books on my TBR list before I accept any more requests for reviews. Which is why I have yet to respond to a lot of the emails in my inbox. I will respond within the next week or two, so again, thank you for your patience. I will get to each email, and respond, once I have posted a few more reviews off of the TBR list. I am still accepting requests, I just need more time to catch up. :)


Wednesday, April 24, 2013

Conpulsio


It is no lie that I am in love with this new author, Kris Radcliffe. Her work leaves you constantly on the edge of your seat while you whip through the pages in a race to the end. This short story is no different and for that reason I have rated it as a FIVE STAR read.

This novel is just a short story and it goes back to before 'Games of Fate' and introduces a character that will be seen in book two 'Flux of Skin'. One of our loved characters from 'Games of Fate' is in this story as well, Ladon and Dragon. It tells a story of a race against time as Vesuvius is close to erupting and encasing them all in a sea of ash. The Jani Prime obey their fathers wishes while unknowingly an act so encompassing will take them on a path towards revenge.

I found it extremely interesting seeing Ladon and Mira interact in this story, before Rysa (Mira's future daughter) takes a place in Ladon's heart. It seemed as though almost instantly they have an understanding about one another. The 'new' character that will be in book two is Andreas, a man with a powerful gift that is more like a curse. I am extremely interested in this new character and am looking forward to reading more about him in the next book.

I really found nothing wrong with this short book, except for the fact that it was too short. I was sucked right into the story and would have loved to continue to read more. Maybe someday when the series is done Radcliffe will go back and tell more of their stories. All of the characters are fully developed with interesting behaviours and attitudes that guide their actions. All in all it was an amazing read and it will be highly recommended to any supernatural/paranormal readers out there.





Sunday, April 14, 2013

Cover Reveal: Conpulsio

It is no secret that I have become a fan of Kris Radcliffe's work since reviewing her novels Prolusio and Games of Fate. I'd like to think that the humble author has also become a fan of The Schwartz Reviews as well. She has been completely wonderful and keeps me up to date with all of her new adventures. One such adventure is the release of another novel and yet another novel on the way. Which, might I add, I am eager to read and review!

This post is regarding Conpulsio, a short novel that will be released by the end of April, if all goes to plan with Radcliffe that is. Which, as a fan of her work I genuinely hope she makes that deadline. Conpulsio takes place between Games of Fate (Book 1 in the series) and Flux of Skin (Book 2). It explains some back stories in Games of Fate and introduces an important character from Flux of Skin. So I know that I am eagerly sitting on the edge of my seat waiting for the release of this book.

BOOK BLURB:


79 AD: Rome presses outward. Vesuvius smokes. Ladon exacts a terrible vengeance for an unthinkable act—and sets in motion the unavoidable collision of four people:
Two Fates bound by the rigidity of the past and the arrogance of the future.
One Shifter with a gift too vile to use.
And a man and a dragon who must save them from the mountain’s smoldering anger—and the weight of their soul’s ashes.

Conpuslio, a new novella set in the Fate ~ Fire ~ Shifter ~ Dragon universe, expands the story of Ladon and Dragon before they meet Rysa, the heroine of Games of Fate.  Set during the infamous night Vesuvius destroys Pompeii, Conpulsio asks two questions:  Who is bound?  Who is compelled? 

Fate ~ Fire ~ Shifter ~ Dragon, a New Adult Urban Fantasy series with Strong Romantic Elements by Kris Austen Radcliffe, follows Rysa and Ladon—and Ladon’s companion beast, Dragon—through a landscape punctuated by unfamiliar creatures:  Fates with the ability to see past, present, and future.  Ghouls called Burners who devour with fire and acid.  Shifters who shape much more than their bodies.  And two dragons who speak with color and pattern.



The synopsis of this story, along with the beautiful cover, is enough to keep me counting the days until it's released. I can pretty much guarantee that this book will be worth the read but just in case you are not quite sure about it, feel free to stay tuned for our review of this book. If you trust me, and want to get your hands on a copy of this amazing tale that will set the stage for Flux of Skin (book 2), then keep your eye on amazon, where the book will be available for purchase near the end of April!



Thursday, April 11, 2013

Eternal Spring




                                                                           
Product Details
What happens when a seemingly infinite natural resource is discovered to be, well, finite? Eternal Spring by Doug Galante answers that question. Panic, threats of coup d'├ętat, riots, love, a town ripped apart, and a town brought together. This four star book has it all.
The tiny town of Scarlet Oak, Pennsylvania is nestled quietly in the Appalachian mountains. Named for the red deciduous trees that grew there when the first settlers made homes there, Scarlet Oak is essentially cut off from the rest of the world by choice. Literally fenced in to keep outsiders away, Scarlet Oak is harboring a carefully guarded secret- a fountain of youth. The people of Scarlet Oak are extremely sheltered and they are fed information from their city council, newspaper, and television (with only 2 channels) that the outside world is evil and dangerous. No internet, no Facebook (gasp!), and no cell phones. No one is allowed in and no one is allowed out. But the townspeople are happy. Wouldn't you be if you could live to be 150 and have the energy of a 30 year old? However, as one old man in the book says, "long life ain't the answer to everything."
The main character is Andrew, who has become so career driven that he has forgotten about his family and has risked everything to follow in his father's footsteps to get a coveted seat on the city council. However, the day Andrew is sworn in his best friend drops a bomb on him. The spring that supplies the town with their precious, old-age inhibiting water is running out, and it's running out fast. His friends hatch a scheme to leave town and they want him to join them. But Andrew always plays by the rules. He has to make decisions that go against everything he stands for. Does he choose to do what's right for the town, his friends, and his family, or does he choose what his father considers to be right?
Cons- I had a hard time getting into this book at first. It seemed a little too "wordy" for my taste. I did not like that there were no definite chapters, mostly because that is how I mark my time ("Just one more chapter and then I'll do the dishes.") There were a few minor grammatical and spelling errors but not enough to distract the reader. At times I felt the dialogue was a little unbelievable (for example, I wouldn't think that someone living in a town cut off from the rest of the world would know to call someone a "douchebag.") I thought the ending was a little too contrived and it seemed a little too rushed.
Pros- The story was a little bit Stepford Wives (because the town is so perfect) mixed with a little bit of The Hunger Games (fenced in town and a government that feeds the people stories of what the outside is like to scare them into not wanting to leave. Minus the games, of course.) The characters were very well developed. I felt connected to Andrew and could feel the turmoil he was going through. The story is a very good example that everything in this world is finite. A good warning of what could happen to our depleting natural resources.
All in all, this was a good book and I would recommend it if you're looking for a good thriller!


General Update

Hello! Just another general update on what is going on with this blog. You have probably noticed that the blog has slowed down some. In no way shape or form have I decided to no longer review. That will NOT happen. What has happened is I have entered into my exam period. I tend to update the blog followers via The Schwartz Reviews Facebook page. If you have yet to like the page, then feel free to do so soon so you can remain updated on the Schwartz Reviews blog.

I have not been reading any novels on the TBR list for the past week or so, and the blog has taken a spot on the back burner for the time being. I have exams over the next two weeks ending on next Saturday. On Sunday I am hosting my sons sixth birthday party and that evening when everything settles down I will resume reading. Thank you again for all of your patience!

On another note. I have found a few reviewers to help with this site. So some updates to some of the pages will be expected when my exam period is over. Until then, keep your eyes open for some reviews from my amazing reviewers that have agreed to help me out. :) Thanks for following The Schwartz Reviews and for continuously leaving feedback through the comments! I love reading everything you write to the blog :)




Thursday, April 4, 2013

Tea & Biscuits with T. Torrest



I recently had the pleasure of reading “Remember When” written by Tina Torrest. If you are a follower of my blog then you have already seen my five star review for this read. After reading and reviewing this great love story, I immediately contacted the author for an interview. Somehow I managed to trick her into answering my questions, Muahahaha. Ok, so I didn’t trick her, I simply asked and she was thrilled to let me, my readers, and her fans know more about her. She has been an absolute pleasure to work with and I look forward to continuously bringing the readers of The Schwartz Reviews updates on Torrest’s latest work as it is available. So grab your coffee (or tea, water, or whatever helps you relax) and kick up your feet and read our interview.

After the publication of your first novel (Remember When) became a well-loved book by all of its readers, I’m sure that you must be asked this question a lot; but when did you first realize that you wanted to be a writer?

I didn’t! It’s just something I’ve always done simply because I enjoyed it. I never thought about making it a career, but after the economy crashed, I (like so many others) found myself out of a job. I had a lot of time on my hands, so I revisited some old ideas. Turns out, my unemployment was a blessing in disguise. I love this new chapter in my life (Oh, God, how corny. Insert bad pun here)!
Haha! I love the pun, every reader should ;) Now, Remember When is a romantic novel for the New Adult readers (also a great read for adults I might add), is this the genre that you will continue to write or will you branch out to new genres?
Hmmm.  I’ve learned to never say never, but I’m pretty well immersed in this whole romance thing. It’s what I enjoy reading!  
Fair enough. I’m a definite romantic at heart too.
Your characters have received a lot of praise in your reviews on amazon. How do you develop them and keep them unique from one another?
I see them in my head as I write. Sometimes, they remind me of combinations of people that I know. Basically, I steal personality traits from my friends and family, people on TV, people I meet on the street… Whatever it takes to flesh them out.
 What made you decide to write Remember When in a first person narrative?
 I wanted the reader to BE Layla. We’ve all been her on some level anyway. I also loved the idea of only learning about the people in her life through their dialogue. I think it keeps Trip’s motivations more of a mystery.
Well that worked! I was practically screaming at Layla and Trip to just SAY something! I was sure their feelings were the same!
Did you expect your readers to fall for Trip as hard as they have?
 Oh, yeah. At least I hoped they would. Hell, I know I sure did!
 Remember When has received a lot of five star reviews on amazon, did you expect the feedback that you have gotten?
 Never. I remember watching that first sale go through. I was so excited thinking that someone was reading my book! Mine had been THE ONLY eyes on it since Day One. I didn’t even tell my family and friends until after I’d gotten some positive feedback. I didn’t know if it was garbage! When that first review came in, I was in tears. I still get emotional at each new one.
 That is a secret that I am sure was hard to keep and the reviews that you are receiving are definitely well earned, the book was extremely well written.  I hear a lot of authors say that their story took on a life of its own and what they originally planned to happen didn’t happen because the characters fought them throughout the story. Did your original plan become RW or did your characters take on a life of their own?
Ha! Good question. Yes, some characters kept vying for more attention, some needed way less. Some things managed to surprise me. For example, I never meant for Cooper to be so relevant to Layla’s life, but he turned out to be the glue. He also wound up being the biggest motivating factor behind Trip’s decisions.
 How long does it take for you to write a novel generally speaking?
 Yikes. My first one took seven years. REMEMBER WHEN took about two. RW2 has a deadline of six months.
 Wow! I hope you make your deadline, and to be honest, I am secretly happy that I will be able to expect Remember When book two soon. How long is your editing process?
What starts out as free-flowing ideas on paper gets tuned, and then fine-tuned until it’s a coherent narrative. But then I have to change a word, expand a sentence so the rhythm is right, add a comma, take one away. Move entire sections. Add in some more dialogue, take some away. I edit repeatedly throughout the writing. Once a story’s “complete”, I will read it in its entirety about three or four or ten more times, re-editing until I feel it’s as perfect as it can be. But it’s never over. I’m STILL editing RW!

A long process then huh? The readers can see your hard work in your novels. Remember When is such an amazing story from start to finish. I have to ask, where does your inspiration come from and how do you come up with your storylines?
Life.  At least the way I think it should be.  But I don’t really know. Something just sparks, and I’m drawn to explore it. DOWN THE SHORE was a romanticized version of how I met my husband (It stars Layla’s cousin Jack as the rock star male lead. Tess Valetti and Cooper’s sister Shana are also secondary characters). In the case of REMEMBER WHEN, I dreamt it. Swear to God. Almost the entire vibe of the story. Only it starred an actual famous actor who shall forever remain nameless.

Haha awe, now I’m curious! Moving on, what would you say is the single most helpful thing to you as an author?
The support of my husband. The guy works all day refinishing floors and comes home to see me sitting on the couch with the damned laptop across my legs. When I’m in the middle of a creative spurt, he really picks up so much of my slack with the house and the kids, without complaint.
That is sweet. Even in your interview, you make it romantic ;) This question is for your fans (and myself), when do you anticipate the release of your next book?
REMEMBER WHEN 2: THE SEQUEL will be released in June.
*Happy Dance* I look forward to the release. I need another Trip fix soon, I’m sure I’m not alone. Readers are now eager for book two and are following your progress closely. Remember When is the first book in the Remember Trilogy. How did you know that you wanted to write a trilogy?
I never set out to write a trilogy! I already mentioned how the story played out for me in a dream. I woke up with a killer first line in my head and the rest just took on a life of its own. Then more ideas came and I just kept expanding on them. Believe it or not, I already knew exactly how Trip and Layla’s story would end before I ever put the first word to paper.
Must have been some dream ;)
Now completely unrelated to your novel, what does a typical day in the life of T. Torrest look like?
Oh jeez. Wake up tired. Get the kids out the door to school. Check email, facebook, goodreads and amazon. Maybe clean, maybe work out, maybe shower! Then it’s right into writing, taking the occasional break on the aforementioned sites. Kids home. Homework, dinner, play, baths, bedtime. TV with hubby. Maybe some variables here… and then sleep. Finally.
Sounds like my day, only instead of writing I am reading to review.  You have gained a following of fans rapidly. What has been the most surprising thing throughout this whole experience?
That I could make a living at it! And of course, the feedback I’ve received from readers. I read and respond to every personal message. I am shocked and flattered and humbled and grateful with each and every one.
 What do you do in your spare time?
 What is this “spare time” of which you speak?
I’m not entirely sure myself, if I ever find some I will let you know where to look! Haha.
After you are done writing the Remember Trilogy, what is next for you?
I’m gunning for a family vacation. Seriously. We will have all earned it by then. Then, it’s right back to the computer, where I’ll completely rewrite DOWN THE SHORE, and finish the two other half-completed manuscripts on my shelf. I have a couple additional ideas floating around for new books, and I’m sure more will come in the meantime.
You will have definitely earned one! 
What is the best way for your fans to reach you?
Email: ttorrest@optonline.netFacebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/TTorrest-Author-Page/127136890800725Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/TTorrest
Amazon:
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00AUV1R42

Thank you so much for taking the time for this interview! I am sure I am not alone when I say that I will be following your progress and that I look forward to the release of Remember When 2.

Thank you so much for having me! I enjoyed the interview process and will keep you posted on any Remember When details. 

For those of you who have not read Remember When yet, what are you waiting for? With amazing reviews and a 'Can't put this book down' story line, it is definitely worth the read! Check out the cover art and a little blurb to get you ready to read more.



Book One tells Layla's story of A-list hottie Trip in the years before his skyrocketing fame.
It will take you back to that time before the real world kicked in, that limbo between adolescence and adulthood, that trial of hanging on to the past while figuring out where the future will lie. It's filled with hilarious eighties references, a few steamy scenes for good measure, with a heart-shredding romance at its core.
It's a relate-able journey through the tumultuous world of friendship, family and high school… 
 …and the memory of that one incredible guy your heart just can't seem to forget.

Sunday, March 31, 2013

Almost There

This is just a quick post to let you all know why it's been so long since the blog has been updated with reviews, interviews, etc. I've been dedicating most of my time to writing my 15 to 20 page report for university, it is due on Wednesday and the blog will continue to be updated after that. Thank you so much for all of your patience!
Happy Easter!
Tuesday, March 26, 2013

General Update

Within the next week or so there will be some new faces helping out with the reviews. Which is amazing considering how backed up we are. I will be doing some random updates to the blog over the next little bit, such as adding the new reviewers to the "About Schwartz" page, which by the way will be changed to "About Us". I have some more books to add to the TBR list, I will also be showing which books are currently being read and reviewed. Making it easier for everyone to know what to expect.

With the new reviewers joining the site, I will be making some signatures for the reviewers to add to every post. That way you know who wrote what. We can continue to accept review requests so keep spreading our site around. We wouldn't be able to help as many authors as we are without the amazing readers spreading our link around. So thank you! Thank you for following the blog, and thank you for helping us get our name out there. It means a lot to me to be able to keep helping everyone that I can with reviews.

Keep your eyes open for the appearance of our new reviewers and be sure to give them all your love in the comments of their reviews.


Saturday, March 23, 2013

Psionic: Wild-Born (Book 1)




A supernatural adventure with giant hurdles to overcome, Adrian (the young main character) faces many emotions while trying to save his own way of life. This novel was very well written and was hard to put down. A FOUR STAR read for readers seeking an adventure through a world saturated with hidden supernaturals.

Adrian Howell is a 12 year old boy when his world is flipped upside down. He is captured and he loses his sister, after he witnesses the murder of his parents. His old games playing with his telekinesis are no longer games, and he is forced to grow up quickly in order to survive. He manages to escape his captor, but his life does not get easier for him afterwards. He is faced with challenge after challenge, overcoming each and everyone of them. While the book does not end with a hook, it is obvious that there is more to Adrian's story, some rocks left unturned and some adventures left unadventured.

I found that the main character was a little bit too young for me. I would have liked him to be slightly older, even 15 or 16 would have helped. As a reader, and a mother, it was hard reading an adventurous story about a parent-less 12-13 year old. I also felt that some of the less exciting parts in the novel, when Adrian gets comfortable or is waiting, lasted too long. I like action packed novels with something exciting within each chapter. I didn't mind too much, however, because the story being in Adrian's head allowed those moments for more emotions to be played in his head (guilt, worth, etc).

Overall, the novel was a great read. A few small issues that irked me slightly, but in the end I was unable to put the book down and I raced to the finish line. Finishing the book I was very satisfied with how it all went down and I look forward to reading the next book in this series. Great work Howell (I mean the author here, are you a telekinesis too? haha).
Tuesday, March 19, 2013

Remember When




Be warned: This book will steal away your productivity for the duration of the read. You will not get anything done, you will not pass go, and you had better be careful or you may not get your pay the week you decide to jump into Layla's world. This FIVE star read will not be easily put down.

This is the story of Layla's infatuation with Trip, the drop dead gorgeous (in my mind and Layla's) new boy in town. You follow Layla through her initial meeting, right through to her obsessive crush on Trip. As the reader, you are entirely at Layla's mercy, reading her every guilty thought. The story will put the reader in a little bit of an awkward position as you fall for Trip right along with Layla and find yourself rooting for the two of them to just connect and find the intimacy that you swear the both of them want. Why is that awkward? Oh I don't know, probably because they are teenagers! Ah well, they are fictional characters and I am not going to lie to you, I was cheering their sex life on. Praying that the two of them would just SAY SOMETHING to one another. It was this giant elephant on the corner of each page as I raced to the finish to find out whether or not they finally...well...you know...did it. :)

Now because I write a negative about each book I read (my reviews touch the good and the bad on each novel I review) I will point out a couple of typos and grammatical errors. However, within the entire novel I believe there were less than five mistakes. Therefore, the book did not lose a star over the tiny overlooked mistakes as they did not detract from the story whatsoever.

This book ate up the vast majority of my time, two evenings in a row. It made me laugh out loud (my children now think I'm nuts I'm sure as I read e-books on my iPhone) and I will admit that I almost shed a tear...almost. Ok, my eyes watered but that's my story and I'm sticking to it. This book had me cheering Layla on, I was upset with Lisa (Layla's best friend) when she didn't agree with me...I mean Layla. I was amazingly over joyed when Trip finally spoke up about what he had been feeling throughout the entire relationship. It played with my emotions, and let's face it...a book that can take you on an emotional roller coaster of a ride is a book worth reading.

This book comes highly recommended to any romance reader out there looking for a young adult novel.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...