Saturday, December 13, 2014

Call Me Sunshine

An overall inspirational story for sufferers of Borderline Personality Disorder, a not well known mental illness. I would also say that this story is inspirational for anyone who has been through extremely tough times. That being said, I should mention that the first part of this novel is extremely triggering, especially to anyone who has dark pasts. However, I would still rate this novel at THREE STARS.

This novel tells Madalynn Brookfield’s story. It begins with her in a crisis period and the story is told from her perspective as well as a few of her closest friends. It explains her dark past and follows her through to her recovery from Borderline Personality Disorder. While this novel is completely fictional, it unfortunately is a very real tale for many who suffer from Borderline Personality Disorder which is an emotion regulation disorder.

I thoroughly enjoyed this story, however, I did find quite a few typos and punctuation errors. If you can overlook such errors, this novel is a great read and will keep you flipping through the pages to find out exactly how Madalynn’s story ends, or begins rather. I found the book, once it got through the triggering content, to be extremely inspirational. I would recommend this book to anyone who is on their way to recovery from Borderline Personality Disorder, or anyone looking to see what it is like to have BPD.


The author of this novel, Deborah Van Norden, actually is a recovering Borderline. I, Schwartz, am a Borderline. This novel and review are based on an inside knowledge of this very difficult and debilitating disorder.
Monday, December 8, 2014

Where Have I Been?

I am sure that if you are a reader of this blog then you have noticed that a review has not been posted in several weeks. If you follow this blog on Facebook then you have heard that I, Schwartz, have been going through some life troubles through this time. I want to thank my readers and the authors that contact me for their patience. I have been through quite a bit these past weeks and I will explain some of that to you now.

I have been going through a divorce. Which means custody agreements, housing issues, living arrangements, and so on. On top of that, I was hospitalized for the spontaneous development of a pain disorder called Trigeminal Neuralgia (apparently one of man’s most painful disorders previously called the suicide disease). So basically, it has been quite the roller coaster ride.


I plan to ease back into the blog as I now am beginning to settle down into my new life. However, everything is still fresh so please bear with me over the next few months. It is not easy to deal with everything some days and I’m just trying to keep my head up. I will give it my best though. Thanks again for your patience.
Wednesday, July 16, 2014

Pin Money


Pin Money is an action packed thrilling novel rated at FIVE STARS.

From the very first pages, this book takes off fast. Full of action. Full of suspense. It covers four short mysteries that center around Grace and Suzie. I found that the novel provided a little too much repeating of past events from book one in the series (Fatal Destiny) but I loved that the novel maintained its fast pace.

Grace is one of my new favourite characters. I love the way she thinks, her actions, and she is just all around well developed. She makes these novels what they are, makes them super enjoyable.
There are some awesome hooks. They are placed well and keep you flipping through the pages. Very well written.

There was this one part within this book that reminded me of an old song I used to listen to. It had me hoppin’ round my house with an extra hop to my step singing ‘Move bi***, Get out my way’ which happen to be the only lyrics of that song I can remember.

The chapters are short, sweet, and to the point. The pages held several moments that I did not see coming. Shocked me, made me cry, made me laugh, and just played around with my emotions.

“Booker charged into the room, going in fast and low. Suzie and I were right behind him. They had guns drawn. I had my hands fisted, feeling hopeless and foolish.”

This is a great book, full of extremely interesting descriptions that make it all the easier to picture this story unfolding in front of you. I would recommend this novel to any thriller, mystery, and action readers out there. Enjoy, I know I did.

Buy Links

Amazon

 Kindle

 Kobo

Sunday, July 13, 2014

The Strange Will of J W Everett



I give this novel a THREE STAR review. So it's obvious by the title, The strange Will of J.W Everett, that it's about a will that is strange. Jared, a reporter of sorts, hear's about a strange will that refers to an estate that has been passed down, but not to a relative. As Jared learns about the will and strange going on's over the years at the estate, he finds himself with more questions then answers. Questions like, is time travel possible? It takes a while for Jared to collect all the fact's (the last fact in the last chapter). There is so much detail that you can actually picture the estate and everything in it. With so many details to keep straight. I didn't particularly care for the way the character changes. It took me a page into the character change to understand why I was reading about a different character. With that said, I still like the characters, and the story.
I like the quote " A horrible thought crossed his mind. What if the path is booby-trapped? He shrink back from the entrance as he thought of the temple at the beginning of Indiana Jones and the Raiders of the lost Ark popped  into his head. Maybe giving James the night off hadn't been such a good idea."
I recommend this book to detail oriented mystery lovers.
Friday, July 11, 2014

Heavens Core


Heavens core was a great short story read. I give it FOUR STARS. This lovely story starts with a young man named Hannibal, who's conflicted about his job as a mercenary, killing is what he was enhanced for. When aliens came to earth and offered technology and cures for diseases in exchange for water, the world watched as peace was made. However on both sides there were those who didn't agree, thus becoming rebels. The Core was created to take care of this problem by any means necessary. Hannibal, a cyborg, starts to question the body's that he's piled up and they weigh heavily on his shoulders, he knows what the core does isn't justice, it's murder. Hannibal escapes the Core headquarters to find his own peace. This is where he meets Tez, a beautiful, vivacious rebel, his sworn enemy. Tez helps Hannibal with his injury from his escape. This is the part where you have to read to find out how Hannibal reacts to the help, and see if he finds the peace he's looking for. All in all, this was a good read for those into sci-fi adventure, and a smidge of romance.
Friday, July 4, 2014

Delusional


A fast paced, thrilling novel, which is rated at FOUR STARS! This novel will suck you in, creep you out, play on your emotions, and spit you out at the end feeling a little bit confused. I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

The main character in this amazing book is Patricia Fowler. An extremely hard working, very thoughtful, pleasant woman who just happens to fall for a married man, Paul Blast. While normally I would not be rooting for the other woman, this novel left me feeling a little conflicted as I raced to the finish hoping for Patricia’s happiness.

This novel was slightly difficult for me to rate. It does have its downfalls but as I weighed the negatives and the positives, well the positives outshone the negatives quite brightly. I found it a little confusing to follow in the beginning as you have several stories to follow. There was a flaw with character development, a single word that stands out that all the characters possessed in their vocabularies. I did find several errors within the novel.

However, it was a fast paced novel that had me hooked within the first few chapters. It creeped me out, a lot. It had me laughing, it had me close to tears, and it had me cringing. Several ‘uh oh’ moments as I raced to see what would happen.

Do Paul and Patricia get their happily ever after? Will Patricia lose her mind in the process? How will this couple rise above all of the eerie challenges that face them?


I would recommend this novel to thriller readers, paranormal readers, and anyone who enjoys fast paced stories.

Buy Links:

Amazon

 Kindle

 Kobo


Tuesday, July 1, 2014

Perfected



Perfected. A FIVE STAR read for all romance and dystopian lovers out there. This is definitely a must read book. It will capture your full attention from the very first words and hold you tight until the very last sentence. You have GOT to get your hands on a copy of this novel!

“It should have been a comfort, to think that all of the things in my room had been shared with another pet, someone just like me, but the thought didn't console me. It only reminded me that she’d been sent back”

Perfected, a novel by Kate Birch, begins with twenty girls sitting properly in a room. They don’t have names, they are named by numbers. They will get their forever names when the sale is complete and they move into their new homes. They have been born and bred to be perfect pets and it quickly becomes clear that any failure on their part will bring them back, through a set of red doors, never to be seen again.

We begin by hearing the thoughts in Eight’s head. She is one of the twenty girls bred to perfection. This is the moment of the sale, a glorious night where only the richest members of society enter and begin the choosing process. It quickly becomes clear that she has caught the eye of a congressman with his wife. By the end of chapter one, Eight goes home with her new owners.

The novel does not take long to capture your every attention. It is extremely interesting to read through Eight’s thoughts as she experiences everything as if it were new. Birch does an amazing job at describing each new moment to its fullest, leaving the impression with you as you quickly flip on through the pages. Eights complete and total innocence is obvious within the first few chapters. Some shocking material is included within these pages. Some ‘Oh my Gosh’ moments came from my mouth as I rapidly flipped through the pages of this book that I just could not put down for the life of me. Even with the shocking material, this is definitely a book you do NOT want to miss out on.

Like any good novel, there is a budding romance. It begins slowly, first glances and then conversations. It leaves the reader wanting more. So again, you find yourself rapidly flipping through the pages, reading quickly to eat up every bit of this romance that you can.

“Maybe Miss Gellner was wrong. Maybe they didn’t care if I was engaged in their conversation... I could be a mechanical girl as easily as I could be a living one. All that mattered was how things looked on the outside.”


This book held my attention until the very last page, at which point I was screaming for MORE. I want another book in this series. I want this novel on the big screens. So obviously this novel comes highly recommended from The Schwartz Reviews. 
Monday, June 30, 2014

Mirror X

This new future aged dystopian novel is a shocking and fantastic FOUR STAR read! It is a fast paced novel, that I managed to read within two days simply because I found it so difficult to put down. I devoured it chapter by chapter and I am positive you will do the same.

"All I wanted was to knock Dr. Love away, jump from the bed ninja-like, burst out the door, and run away-to escape this foreign world and Dr. Bennett's jarring words."

This book follows Cassie, a girl that was born more than a thousand years before the time period in the novel. Left in stasis and discovered in a time of need from the future citizens perspective. But Cassie does not like their plans, she wants out, only in the advanced futuristic world that becomes nearly impossible. I fell for Cassie right from the beginning. She is an amazing character.

This book was sprinkled with romance throughout the chapters. Cassie falls for the first person she sees, Dr. Bennett. The only thing that I found odd was that Dr. Bennett seemed to have fallen for Cassie a bit too soon for my liking. The novel holds many "OH MY GOD" moments, plenty of "I didn't see that coming" moments, and it was quite shocking at times.

I did find a few errors within the pages, but I was able to overlook them and I truly did fall in love with this story. It ends perfectly and even though the story does end, it leaves the reader imagining more. I would recommend this book to dystopian readers, futuristic readers, and supernatural readers. Enjoy, I know I did.

Going Down in Flames



Going Down In Flames is a FOUR STAR read. I was overwhelmed with the rules of becoming a dragon, however, I completely understand the need to know it. Love the main character Bryn McKenna, an out spoken, naive sixteen year old new dragon.

It takes a few chapters to learn about Bryn and her new Dragon life. It takes a few more chapters to learn about becoming a dragon and the rules that apply to life as a Dragon. Bryn stumbles through first finding out she and her parents are dragons, and that she is being shipped off to a new private, secluded school. With her parents being out cast, and the facts that they are left out, Bryn feels out of the loop left right and center.

Bryn has a red hot temper like her dad and fast, cool instincts like her mom, which helps and hurts her when making new friends. Oh and I can't leave out the Hot Knight and a particular black dragon whom are interested in Bryn's naive charm! Really this was a great story and an even better lead into a possible series.

Chris Cannon writes an awesome story and I absolutely loved this movie reference:
"Good. Because it was shiny and pretty and sparkly and good God, she needed to get this under control before she started muttering, My precioussssss."


Chris Cannon caught my attention and had me laughing and learning right along with Bryn. I recommend this book to young adult and supernatural readers.
Friday, June 27, 2014

The Body on the T


This THREE STAR mystery read begins right away with an unknown body discovered in the water. It ends up being a special case that ties this book to the first book within this series. It is a good quick mystery read.

"'You are correct as usual, Sergeant, I think you patient is dead,' said the doctor."
I found that the recap of the first book was short and right to the point. I find lengthy recaps annoying and this one recapped perfectly. The novel begins quick, however, it does seem to lull at some points and then once again, picks up speed and momentum as it goes.

I found that the romance within these pages was much better than the first book. However, it still seems a little too perfect and a little too written at times.

"The other thing his grandfather had told him was to enjoy the moment, because that was all we had. The past was just memories and the future was not here yet. Enjoy the moment and leave the worrying to other people."
-I LOVE LOVE LOVE this quote as it is a quote
 that has helped me through my rough times and it
was interesting seeing it within these pages.
Wonderful words of wisdom. 

The book was sometimes predictable, however, there were several 'I didn't see that coming' moments as well. I found that the mystery part of this book was extremely slow to develop. Also, I think the author may have a food fetish as food is mentioned WAY to often.

I found some errors within the pages, however, if you can look past those, I would recommend this novel to any readers looking for a short mystery read.
Thursday, June 26, 2014

Lost in Starlight



Well, Lost in Starlight was a FIVE STAR read! Sherry Soule, did an excellent job at catching my attention right from the get-go.

I found this novel to be very well written, and there was just enough detail to give you a clear picture of what was going on but not so much it that it overwhelm's you. There was an excellent mix of mystery and romance. Sloane Masterson is a great main character and very intriguing. Sloane captivated me with her purple hair,crazy wardrobe and qerky horror flicks columns. 

"Why whenever the victim is trapped or tied to a chair and the killer is about to torture them, the character always says the same dumb thing?
Like: 'Please. You don't have to do this.' I'm pretty sure that the killer knows he doesn't have to do this-he just wants to.


As a journalist she finds herself stalking Hayden Lancaster, a smoking hot classmate, for her new story. Just like most reporters though, she winds up with more questions then answers at first. It takes a few chapters for Sloane to put together the mystery of Hayden Lancaster, a hybrid alien. Who doesn't like smoking hot alien hybrids right?! 

Now Sloane is worried about the creepy government agents,and the repercussions of learning Hayden's secret. Oh and don't forget his snobby extraterrestrial friends. As if that's not enough, Hayden has an ex-girlfriend who is not pleased with his choices. Sloane now has to decide if a relationship with Hayden is worth the risk.  

If you like YA novels or paranormal novels then this is a must read! I can't wait for the next one to come out.
Saturday, June 21, 2014

Blackout

Blackout, a dystopian novel of romance. It is a quick read that I have rated at THREE STARS. Once I began reading, it was clear that this was going to be a good book. One that I would devour within a day or two. And devour it I did.

You read through the novel as Phoenix, a DZ from Dark DC. He goes on to explain the world around him, and just how it came to be that way. Phoenix seems to have only one purpose in the Dark Zone, Star, his Starlight. Their romance is already in place when you begin the story. They already only have eyes for each other. But throughout the pages, somehow (and I know how because I have read the novel) they end up being torn apart, and made to play a different game. A game invented by the Easies. 

I found that the novel was well written. It is a present tense first person narrative. Normally, most books are past tense so I found this novel refreshing. I found that the main character was really well written. However, there were some inconsistencies throughout the pages.

I loved the story, so why have I rated it as a three star read? Because I found that it was too close to The Hunger Games for my liking. Yes, the book differs in many ways, but the similarities are there. However, that being said, I still want to get my hands on the second book in this series because I can already tell that it WILL differ from The Hunger Games. 

I would recommend this novel to the YA readers out there, the dystopia readers out there, and of course, the romance readers.

More:

Watch the YouTube trailer for this novel by clicking HERE.
Check out the books website by clicking HERE.
Follow Madeleine S Henry on FACEBOOK.
Follow Madeleine S Henry on TWITTER.
Friday, June 20, 2014

Nogo Gogo



I didn't quite understand the title of this novel until I began reading. Then I realized, quite to my dismay, that the lettuce makes you gogo, and the Nogo, well it makes you Nogo. I would rate this bizarre novel at TWO STARS

This book is about a new medicinal product that blocks you up. Which becomes a necessary medicine when they realize that Double Organic is selling vegetables that are causing the population diarrhea. Of course the owners of Nogo want to use Double Organic for their own devices.

"The three of them had, in fact, bought some of the same ecstasy at the club, which had been cut with a laxative, which had not only sent them running to the ladies' room at the same time, but had also instigated the initial conversation about Nogo."

This book would be a great addition to your bathroom reading collection. Or if you don't mind potty humour, then give it a whirl. For me personally, it just was not my cup of tea.

There were several errors within the pages. It was, however, a unique story, one that I never thought I'd ever read. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys potty humour, doesn't have a light stomach and can handle topics that are better left untouched.
 
Saturday, June 14, 2014

Guest Post

“Sneak Peek at LOST IN STARLIGHT”

Today author, Sherry Soule has some exciting news to share with us! She will be publishing a brand new Upper YA / Sci-Fi romance series: the “Starlight Saga” with scorching-hot character chemistry, exciting suspense, and epic romance on June 26, 2014.
To help promote this interstellar love story, “LOST IN STARLIGHT,” Sherry is doing this guest post to share the news with fellow booklovers.


VOLUME ONE: Starlight Saga
High school reporter Sloane Masterson knows she has one helluva story when she witnesses hottie Hayden Lancaster bending forks with his mind.
Like any good journalist, Sloane sets out to uncover the truth, even if it includes a little stalking. When the superhuman feats start to pile up and the undeniable heat rises between them, Hayden has no choice but to reveal his secret: he’s an alien hybrid.
They’re as different as night and day—she’s a curvy, purple-haired, horror junkie and he’s a smoking hot, antisocial, brainiac—yet the intense fascination between them refuses to go away. Even at Hayden’s insistence that dating each other is “off limits” and crazy dangerous, their fiery attraction threatens to go supernova.
Now Sloane’s dealing with creepy government agents, über snobby extraterrestrials, and a psycho alien ex-girlfriend out for revenge. After a crash course on the rules of interstellar dating, Sloane must decide if their star-crossed romance is worth risking her own life....
Enjoy this sneak peek!
I don’t usually stalk boys, but if I hadn’t been spying on Hayden Lancaster, I never would’ve seen the mind-blowing fork-bending incident.
I scoot back the creaky plastic chair and rest my chin on my fist. Lunch hour is the best time to study my classmates undetected. Especially the tall, hot, and broody ones.
Not that I’m a bad person. Honest. I’ve never narked on anyone. I don’t kick puppies. And I normally don’t play at undercover agent. Well...until today.
“Are you scoping out a new story?” My best friend, Viola Saks, shifts in her seat, her nose stuck in the latest Jack Kilborn novel. Viola prefers her book boyfriends over real guys, and I gotta admit, she has a point. Fictional hotties are way more exciting than the real thing.
“Yup. But right now, I’m only observing,” I say. “People watching.”
Tiny white lie. I’m secretly kicking off: “Operation Lancaster.”
Haven High’s cafeteria is the perfect spot to catch up on gossip, observe clique wars, and witness any mean girl activity. This is where I discover the most newsworthy stories.
As two girls pass our table, one of them bumps my chair without apologizing. To me, the lunchroom is more than just a place to chow down on industrial-grade food. It reminds me of a prison scene, with its hostile mingling and violent chaos, like inmates at mealtime. Saying the cafeteria is only for eating is like saying an underground lair is only for plotting world domination. If you can survive a high school lunchroom, then you can survive anything. Well, with the exception of a zombie apocalypse.
The double-doors swing open and in walks Hayden Lancaster, chin held high. Next to him is his younger brother, Zach, bouncing a basketball with one hand and drinking a soda with the other. Hayden’s eyes are trained directly ahead as they stride across the crowded room.
About time. The focus of my newest article has finally arrived. Opening my purse, I get out my Hello Kitty spiral-bound notebook and pen. Now I’m ready.
The Lancaster brothers are both gorgeous in a way that should be totally illegal, but look nothing alike. Zach is a cocky, dark-haired, all-round jock, and Hayden is the quiet, rockstar-sexy, drummer-type. He’s one of those guys who prefers to function in his own little world. And I’ll admit that I sure wouldn’t mind a starring role on his planet.
But I’m not sure which social group they fit into...the misunderstood-brooding-hot-guys duo?
I covertly look over at Hayden sitting three tables away from mine. He’s six feet tall, and lean, yet muscular. The times we’ve passed each other in the halls, his eyes are usually twinkling as if he knows an intriguing secret. Today, Hayden’s wearing a dark blue short-sleeved, button-up shirt with faded skinny jeans, a studded belt, and scuffed Etnies. On one arm, he has several black rubber bracelets. Nothing too unusual about him.
Except for one very odd feature.
Hayden has two different colored eyes. He turns his head and his light brown fauxhawk falls over his forehead in a messy yet somehow deliberate way, landing over his one strikingly blue eye. The other one is green. Besides the rare heterochromia iridis, he seems to be just another smokin’ hot brainiac.
Flipping open my notebook, I write: Startling eye color and member of the Amazing Hair Club. Check.
Wait. Why am I thinking about how über hot he is? Seriously not important.
Viola lowers her book a fraction. “You’re totally staring at the Lancasters.”
“I’m not staring.”
“Oh, right, you’re observing.” She tilts her head. “Most girls can’t resist guys like them. They have that...”
Incredibly sexy quality?
“Dangerous vibe going,” Viola finishes.
I pull out a bag of celery from my lunchbox. “Yeah, I guess.”
Maybe I should write that down. Sexy bad-boys. Check.
Viola points at my lunch. “Your mom on that health food kick again?”
“Yup.”
She reaches out a slender arm to nab a French fry.
 “Seriously? How are you supermodel thin when you eat stuff like that?” I groan and glance at her slim figure clad in a skintight black dress with thigh-high boots. A silver eyebrow ring glints in the dull light. “I could eat only yogurt for the rest of my life and I’d still be your chubby sidekick.”
She scoffs. “You’re not chubby, Sloane. You’re extra curvy.”
Whatevs. Guess that’s just what people say when you’re a foodie like me.
Viola’s flicks a page of her book. “So what’s this article on?”
I clear my throat. “Actually, I’m investigating Hayden Lancaster.”
“Should be interesting.” One brown eye peeks over the edge of the paperback. “Any particular reason?”
“Because of this hacker rumor going around. The gossip this morning was off the hook. Supposedly, Hayden hacked into the school’s computer system over the weekend to change some grades. School administrators are saying that they’ll probably need a day just to block any security breaches.”
She straightens, lowering her book. “That’s odd. Isn’t he on the honor roll? Why would he need to alter his grades?”
I shrug. “Beats me. Maybe he was doing it for someone else.”
As a reporter for our online newspaper the Haven Gazette, a hacker scandal is way huge. And since my college resume is in dire need of some padding, this assignment was just too juicy to pass up. Plus, a front-page byline will look much more impressive in a hardcore journalism-type of way than my own wicked cool column—Fright Night Babble—where I mainly review and chat about horror films.
My gaze strays back to the brothers. I can tell by Hayden’s jerky head movements that the brothers are engrossed in a heated discussion. Somebody’s not a happy camper. His angular features and flawless skin reddens, and Zach’s square jaw clenches.
Dang it. I’m too far away to read their lips.
Mid-rant, Hayden scoots his chair back, the metal legs squeaking on the linoleum floor. He slides his cell phone out of his pocket and reads the screen, then scratches the stubble on his cheek with a frown. Zach tries to grab the phone, but Hayden shoves it back into his pocket.
“You dumped her, bro?” Zach practically shouts.
Hayden’s hands curl into fists. “Will you stop making a big thing out of it!”
Viola and I exchange a look. For a minute, the entire cafeteria falls silent.
“Whoa.” She points a fry at the brothers. “I wonder what Hayden and Zach are fighting about. And who got dumped?”
“Sounds like it’s over some girl. I didn’t even know he had a girlfriend.”
But it would seem that he’s a free man now. Interesting…
“Neither did I. As far as I know, Zach and Hayden have never even dated any of the girls at this school.” Viola sighs. “Like they think they’re too good for us or something.”
I slam my juice box on the table, purple liquid shooting out of the straw. “Maybe that’s because everyone’s so damn cliquey at this school. It’s just wrong, the way the other kids treat them,” I say. “Did you hear? Someone jacked up Hayden’s locker again with spray paint.” I’m beyond disgusted by some of my classmates’ Neanderthal moves.
“Then maybe you should investigate who keeps screwing with the Lancasters, instead. Hayden and Zach can’t help being sexy and brilliant.” Viola is an advocate for social justice in high school, and totally reading my mind. “Besides, if Hayden got away with the hacking incident, there’s no real story, and you probably won’t find any credible sources to verify the allegation.”
I bite off the end of a celery stalk. “Are you kidding me? There’s a story here—I can feel it.”
Please mark your calendars to buy your copy of LOST IN STARLIGHT on June 26th 2014!
Read the first five chapters for free on wattpad: http://www.wattpad.com/story/14214838-lost-in-starlight-syfy-romance
Places you can find Sherry Soule:
Twitter @SherrySoule: http://twitter.com/SherrySoule
Please add LOST IN STARLIGHT to your TBR on goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20707942-lost-to-starlight
The awesome book cover was designed by the talented, Kristen Thompson-Oh of KCT Designs at www.kctdesigns.com
Eager to read the first five chapters on your Kindle? FREE every Friday from Amazon: http://amzn.to/1hdo6Oh


Guest Post

Could author be the next Stephen King?

 Port St. Lucie writer Keith Rommel’s horror novel is being made into a motion picture! 
BY AMY WOODS
Special to Florida Weekly



The next Stephen King could surface in sunny South Florida.

With troubling titles such as “The Lurking Man,” “The Sinful Man” and “The Cursed Man” now in production as a motion-picture thriller author Keith Rommel has taken on the tendencies of horror’s highness.

Wrote a reviewer
at United Kingdom based BookLore
of “The Cursed
 Man”: “This is a very well-written book, with a little bit of Stephen Kinglike horror.
It will keep the reader interested, and it is a gem of a story.”

“I’m a fan of Stephen King, and to even be compared to somebody like that is very humbling,” Mr. Rommel said. “You’re
your own worst critic, so I don’t necessarily agree with it, but I’ll take the compliment.”

While the 43-year-old Port St. Lucie resident has read a lot of King’s bestsellers, other authors have influenced the writing
style of the hobbyist-turned hopeful.

ROMMEL “Iris Johansen, she’s a good writer,” Mr. Rommel said. “I really liked ‘The Search.’”

He also admits the “Left Behind” apocalyptic-fiction series has made as much of an impression on him as his collection of comic books.
 
“I am a comic book nerd nerd, nerd, nerd, through and through,”
Mr. Rommel said.

He started buying comic books in elementary school after a teacher told him he had a reading-comprehension problem
and prescribed “pictures
with words.”

“I couldn’t put the pieces together when you asked me what happened in the story, and my teacher said to start reading books that had pictures in them,” Mr. Rommel said. “And here I am at the age of 43, and I still buy comic books, much to my wife’s dismay.”




















By day, the father of two works at Rocky’s Ace Hardware in Tequesta.
By night, he pens passages
filled with crime, suspense and psychological fiction.

“I grew up working in retail and started to write as a hobby,” Mr. Rommel said. “It has been a fine balance being able to maintain
the demands of running a store, raising a family and writing. The majority of my writing is done at night when the house goes quiet.

Q: Can you describe “The Cursed Man”?

A: “The Cursed Man” is based off of a family friend’s
young-adult life. His mother is living inside his head, and he’s just trying to escape her. The whole book, you’re trying to figure out whether this guy is nuts or not. It’s about abuse.

Maritza Brikisak plays Death in “The Cursed Man.” COURTESY PHOTOS

Q: How did you land a motion-picture deal?

A: I realized
I had no PR, so I looked for reviewers
to review the book. I mailed out 15 books and got nine reviews one who compared
my writing to Stephen King. Who knew when I licked that stamp and put it on the envelope
and sent it to the United Kingdom that this would ever get the attention
of a producer?

Q: When is the movie coming out?

A: Production started in February, and it’s supposed
to wrap at the end of September. Intergalaxy Entertainment and James Perry are producing
the movie in Pasadena, Calif.
 Q: You say your movie has something in common with Star Wars. What is it? Jim Tavaré as Terry in
“The Cursed Man.”




A: The moco [motion-control] crane that was used to film the Death Star!
 
Q: How did your father serve as an inspiration for your work?

A: My father was a big advocate
of my writing and often encouraged me to try and get published.
When he passed away from cancer, I was compelled to pursue publication and found a home for “The Cursed Man” at Sunbury
Press. The first thing you see slapped in your face is my dedication to my father.

Q: Where can readers buy your novels?

A: They can be purchased
through any major bookseller, including
Amazon and Barnes & Noble.

Q: What is your goal as a writer?






A: My ultimate goal is to share my work with people in hopes of removing them out of their everyday stress and immerse them into a world of intrigue. If I was able to do my hobby as a living,
I would love to be able to write books full-time.

Q: Are you going to be rich and famous someday?



A: I can tell you right now if “The Cursed Man” is successful, “The Lurking Man” is going to be a movie. They have the book already. 
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...